Et tu King James

King James.

The version of the Bible named after the King.

The NBA player who sports about several Championship rings.

Commonality?

Both human.

The latter finds himself beloved by many and despised by an equal amount of persons.

Why King James as my topic for the hour?

I can relate.

Not too long ago, I was driving around my hometown and passed by a familiar place from my high school days. My thoughts raced to different memories and persons of interest.

Suddenly, the sweet taste of filtered memories of ages past was interrupted by the tart, tangy memory of being someone’s standard.

Intersection:

There have been times throughout life that when I failed, others felt vindicated if not esteemed. My failure in some feat or goal made others suddenly come alive or reach some level of self-efficacy.

Disgusting. Disheartening. Frustrating.

I remember scowling in a classroom anytime someone jeered when they outperformed me in some arena.

I’m not your damn standard. 

I didn’t have those words at such a young age, but I did ask the unanswered question of why my performance solidified someone else. I even had a Coach who taught social studies come up to me in lunch and jeer, what’s wrong with me (plot in a random name of a kid that generally goofs off academically in school) did better than you. Oh, the tears welled in my throat.

See, I never had the opportunity to marinate in academics just for the sake of it…not before Graduate School at least. No, my intelligence and uncanny ability to thrive in educational settings was my golden ticket and goose. I was athletic but it was underdeveloped due to no money and no support.

But, my intellect was unstoppable.

Yet, even then it couldn’t be pure. I had to hustle my intelligence to reach the next 2-4 stages of life and others emasculated it when there self-worth couldn’t foot the bill.

Why? Same reason why anyone bullies or enjoys in the defeat of another.

So, let me hop off the horse for a moment.

You don’t have to be a King James fan to understand Lebron is human.

He has goals and aspirations. He has a history that served as a motivating force to maintain his current stride.

But don’t forget, he’s human.

Yes, he’s not a toy nor a target for your tantrums.

We all make decisions others may or may not like.

Like Lebron, I know what it is to leave a hometown before others think you should.

I know what it’s like to take your talents elsewhere and know you are still on a puppet string of performance.

I know what it is to be misunderstood and told you are shallow because your outlook on life.

Funny, the only thing shallow is someone else critiquing the miles in another’s shoes.

After the NBA finals, I quietly released an Et tu King James.

I understand being so close but not clinching something that is greater than what it appears.

I cheered for the other team because of preference but still find respect for the man they call King James.

See, we Eagles fly alone. Our destinations do not call for flocks.

Eagles travel the way of  the unpopular while sustaining the jeers, calls, and blame when suddenly a standard , we become.

Stop making another human your standard. Stop tearing down someone else’s dream, vision, or flight plan out of your own fears.

But until then, Et tu King James, Et tu.

Leave a comment